pjthompson: (Default)
[personal profile] pjthompson
I decided to quite some time ago. I haven't talked about my conversion experience and mostly won't now. But I thought I'd put that out there, not to be some Pammy-Come-Lately, but in case anyone was interested (which I suspect, not) or that it might do some minisucle bit of good (which I suspect, not).

I was bitterly disappointed when Hillary didn't make it. Most of the bitterness came from the blatant sexism and ageism thrown the way of anyone who supported her. Not to mention at her. It felt like we'd tried so hard and walked so far and hadn't made any progress at all.

But Barack Obama wasn't responsible for any of that. And I never, not for one single solitary moment, ever believed the Republican party was a better deal for me and mine, or that Sarah Palin ever represented me and all the other women out there trying to make a better life for themselves.

I wanted Obama to show me some stuff at the convention, and he did, and I felt I could in good conscience vote for him. That conviction has only grown in the weeks since, and now I'm proud to vote for him, completely in his corner. His grace under pressure has been phenomenal to watch. His calm, his reason, his thoughtfulness are such an antidote to the mean-spirited littleness of the Bush Agenda. We've tried blatant emotionalism for the last eight years, and see where that's got us. We've tried pandering to the rich, and see what's become of that. We've tried religious intolerance as acceptable codes of behavior, and see what it has made of us.

I want to be better than that. I want my country to be better than that. I want to be governed by reason and calm and dignity, and thoughtfulness. I want to be governed by Barack Obama.

So, fwiw, me, the roommate, and Colin Powell—we're voting Obama.

Date: 2008-10-19 11:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pdlloyd.livejournal.com
I was very pleased during the primaries to see the quality of the candidates, particularly the Democratic candidates, because for maybe the first time I felt I wouldn't be having to choose the lesser of two evils while voting for president.

I was bothered by a lot of the negativity directed toward Clinton, even after I had decided that, much to my chagrin (since I've been waiting a long time for a viable female candidate) she wouldn't be my first choice as the Democratic presidential candidate. Throughout this campaign I've been amazed by Senator Obama, not just by his eloquence, but by the thoughtful nature of his responses and by his ability to handle himself calmly in every situation. It's my hope that he will be able to bring the country together, as well as to work diplomatically with nations around the world in ways that will be beneficial for us and the entire world.

Date: 2008-10-19 11:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hollailama.livejournal.com
Well said. My thoughts exactly.

Date: 2008-10-19 11:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sartorias.livejournal.com
Yes, yes! I felt exactly the same way.

Date: 2008-10-19 11:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] raecarson.livejournal.com
I really hope he has something very exciting and cool in mind for Hillary. She's wasted as a mere Senator.

Date: 2008-10-21 12:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kmkibble75.livejournal.com
I know I definitely was negative toward Sen. Clinton, but I hope I wasn't sexist. That was one line I tried not to cross.

I could see her on the Supreme Court.

Date: 2008-10-21 07:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kmkibble75.livejournal.com
Okay, I think I managed to avoid all that. :-)

Profile

pjthompson: (Default)
pjthompson

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:20 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios